了解你的消化系统

hpb-system}

在亚洲,肝病的患病率很高。如黄疸、脂肪肝与肥胖就与大量饮酒、高胆固醇和糖尿病代谢疾病相关。肝硬化和癌症都可以引起人体的肝胆胰(HPB)系统损伤–很少人了解它的重要性。肝、胰、胆管、胆囊,每一个器官都有着内在的关系,它们都是人体消化系统所必需的。通过早期检测照顾及护理肝胆胰系统是至关重要的,以使患者能及时寻求正确的护理。

负责必要的身体功能,包括从小肠对脂肪的控制水平处理消化的食物,血液中的氨基酸和葡萄糖,在体内清除颗粒和感染的血液防治感染,中和和破坏药物及毒素如强铁、维生素和其他重要的化学物质,以分解食物转化为能量并制造胆汁,用以帮助脂肪消化和分解食物并转化为能量。像所有其他的身体机能,HPB系统非常复杂但重要。同时HPB系统也容易受到病症和疾病。

由病毒细菌或寄生虫感染、肿瘤、有毒化学品、酒精消费、营养不良、代谢紊乱、甚至心脏衰竭,所引起的相关疾病可导致严重的情况。肝脏、胰腺、胆囊和胆道系统疾病是比较常见的,经常需要手术治疗,以恢复和拥有长期的良好结果。
 

hpb-system}

 

肝脏是一个重要的器官,没有它,身体的组织会因缺乏能量和营养而快速死亡。它执行与消化,代谢,免疫和身体内的营养物质的存储有关的许多基本功能。

它也是身体的唯一器官,有一个令人难以置信的死亡或受损组织再生能力,它是能够迅速恢复其正常的大小和功能。
 

肝脏疾病

脂肪肝与乙型肝炎为新加坡最常见的两种肝脏疾病。与生活方式相关的肝脏病症如脂肪肝,影响约15%人口。可能是由于久坐不动的生活方式,不充分的活动和饮食过多导致身体质量指数(体重指数)的增加。糖尿病的危险因素也产生了负面影响的情况。
乙型肝炎是一种肝脏的炎症疾病。此病可进展为肝纤维化及肝硬化或肝癌。有一乙肝普遍接种疫苗的处方,促使显著的下降发病率。通过运行肝功能测试或血液检测来检测肝脏炎症和损害度及判断肝脏的健康状况。此检查适用于那些即使肝脏没有显著不适的迹象高危人群–那些拥有不良饮食习惯、久坐的生活方式、高体重指数、糖尿病患者,以及个人与家庭成员中有肝脏疾病或者是乙肝携带者的病史。

一旦发现肝脏疾病,超声波和进一步的血液测试将被进行以确定疾病恶化程度。偶尔,血液化验也将不获任何答案;医生便可选择微创穿刺活检从肝细胞抽取样本化验。
在肝脏确诊的情况后,下一步是要配药以防止进一步肝脏损伤,同时减少病情恶化的风险。脂肪肝可由不断增加口服药物治疗和改变生活方式加以预防。患者可借由减少热量的摄入和改变生活方式来逆转肝条件。事实上,生活方式的改变往往比药物治疗更有效。在乙型肝炎的情况下,如果病毒是主动的且有持续的肝损伤,治疗是必要的,是由抗病毒口服药物的程式进行。此后,常规的血液测试将用以确定病情是否在控制下。

当在肝脏疾病导致肝衰竭和末期肝硬化时的两种情况下才需要肝脏移植手术。如果肝硬化导致肝癌,手术只需切除肿瘤部分并留下剩余良好的肝脏。肝衰竭需要肝移植治疗。在亚洲,肝脏疾病如肝癌的发病率高且对于末期肝病患对于肝移植有不断增长的需求。甭说全球,在每一个国家都发生尸体(非生物)短缺且拥有冗长的病患等待移植名单。因此,活体肝移植(LDLT)已成为一种有效的选择,特别是对于急性肝衰竭和肝肿瘤如最常见的肝细胞癌(HCC)患者。
 

活体肝移植 (LDLT)

活体肝移植是涉及活体愿意给他的家庭成员或亲密的朋友所需一部分肝脏的过程。对于患有急性进展性肝病的患者,往往在等待尸体肝脏时并不理想,只因这可能需要较长时间。然而若没有活体肝移植,此类患者可发展致命的并发症。

活体肝移植与尸体供肝移植(DDLT)最大的优势是医生可以安排病人的程序。因此,病人仍可在受损的医疗条件可以进行优化移植手术以达到更好的结果。

阅读更多关于活体肝移植
 

百汇亚洲移植中心 (PATU)

一个专门的住院病房和重症监护病房。
我们建立于1994年,是一个领先的成人和儿童肝脏,胰腺和胆管疾病治疗中心。我们的鹰阁医院病房是现代化住院设施,配有先进的医疗设备,在那里,患者从多学科专家和其他辅助医疗专业人员的专业团队那里得到个性化医疗护理;称为百汇亚洲移植中心(PATU)

该中心的目的是提供全面和无缝的肝脏护理,包括肝硬化治疗,肝透析,丙型肝炎治疗和乙肝疫苗和乙肝疫苗。百汇亚洲移植中心临床结果已被国际公认的并成为新加坡领先的医疗资产。
 

亚洲美安肝脏中心的荣誉

由著名的肝脏外科医师陈凯泽医生专门从事肝移植,该小组包括呼吸重症监护李康和医生及护士、专职医疗保健专业人士及其他多学科团队。
于2002年进行首例活体肝移植,至今我们已经成功地进行了230多案例–开启亚洲首家民营移植中心的里程碑。我们中心是在该程序规模执行中经验最丰富的中心之一。成功的关键是拥有一队训练有素,经验丰富的团队在经营重症监护病房和普通病房的设置。肝脏中心也成为世界上顶端肝衰竭患者肝移植最为顶尖的治疗中心之一。我们在利用现有肝脏透析技术支持危重病人状态等患者弥合的手术是成功的。迄今为止,我们的团队经验成功照就我们为世界上规模最大的复杂案例管理中心。

我们采用先进的德国技术 – 梅维斯远程服务(MDS)。这是一个精确的工具,使外科医生能够对肝脏捐赠者以最大的安全性和信心执行的操作,这项技术可以让医生从CT扫描精确重建捐赠者的肝脏解剖。从供体的CT扫描数据上载到MDS,团队的技术人员和放射科医生将翻译数据描绘血管解剖和实质的体积数据,以确定拟议的肝移植的收件人的适用性。
我们是东南亚第一个常使用这种技术的医疗中心,并使用各种肝透析机,这有助于治疗肝功能衰竭的患者和作为一个“桥梁”移植手术的区域领导者。活体肝移植的主要缺点是并发症的发生或供体的死亡的可能性,同时寻找一个捐赠者与收件人的血型是否适合(身体和精神)接受手术也存在一定的难度。在新加坡,捐赠者往往是收件人亲密伙伴或近亲。潜在的捐助者需要咨询我们的专家,以充分了解手术的风险。
 

胰腺是一个在胃背后大量释放消化酶,进入小肠以帮助食物消化的大腺体。它会释放胰岛激素和胰高血糖素进入血液;这些激素有助身体如何将使用食物转换为能量。当消化酶被激活后,他们被释放到小肠,然后攻击胰腺的炎症。胰腺疾病可以分为良性和恶性,良性胰腺疾病如胰腺炎(急、慢性)、大多数胰腺囊肿、胰腺神经内分泌肿瘤和自身免疫性胰腺炎等。
 

胰腺囊肿

尽管胰腺囊肿,胰腺神经内分泌肿瘤和自身免疫性胰腺炎的并因并不完全清楚,但一般认为急性胰腺炎通常是由胆结石或酒精滥用/摄入所引起的。因胆囊结石引起的胰腺炎将需要胆囊切除术以防止随后的侵犯,也可能需要以手术来缓解严重的情况下的腹痛。自身免疫性胰腺炎有时可仿似胰腺癌,瘤,这会是思想,是造成慢性酒精滥用和可能需要通过手术来治疗严重的腹部疼痛的情况下。自身免疫性胰腺炎模仿胰腺肿瘤,被认为是由身体的免疫系统攻击造成的胰腺且用以药物治疗。

随着越来越多的人进行定期健康检查,再加上普遍使用的医疗影像:如超声和CT检查有助于增加早期胰腺囊肿发病率的诊断。
胰腺囊肿可以早期发现,但这将需要一个超声或扫描。血液检测是大多数胰腺肿瘤或囊肿的可靠指标。要确定胰腺囊肿的性质,患者可进行超声内镜超声检查。这将有利于分析取样的囊液(细针穿刺活检),帮助我们确定癌搜身和诊断胰腺囊肿的不同类型。
一旦囊肿的性质及其恶性肿瘤的风险(或癌症)被确诊,医生将建议该如何最好地抑制囊肿。通常情况下,一位胰腺医生足以监视低风险的囊肿。然而,在高风险囊肿的情况下,手术治疗是根除问题的最佳选择,以及,避免囊肿将发展为恶性病例的可能性。
 

胰腺癌

胰腺癌是恶性的,它们可能出现在胰头或胰腺的身体/尾部。到目前为止,没有可靠的标志物可以早期检测胰腺癌。但我们知道,一些胰腺囊肿有可能恶化为胰腺癌;因此,正式评估的重要将足以判断这些胰腺囊肿是否有恶化为高风险胰腺癌的机率。
手术是胰腺癌诊断后的其中治疗方案。如果癌症发生在胰头,惠普尔或切除胰头手术将被推荐为合适的治疗方法。惠普尔手术并发症发生率约30%,绝大多数是小型感染、伤口恢复问题等。主要并发症包括出血,胰漏。如果肿瘤位于主体或胰腺,远端胰腺或主体和胰尾的切除手术将被执行。并且如果癌症及早发现,将以腹腔镜或称为无切口微创外科手术的进行。
以10%至15%的并发症,其中大至上以轻微并发症复苏相对更快且具有较小的疤痕。手术后的辅助化疗有助于降低胰腺癌复发率。多数患者手术后恢复良好,并保持胰腺术后正常的消化功能。手术后的停机时间约为三至六个星期,这取决于手术的执行的类型。有些患者在手术后出现轻微的腹部不适,但情况随时间而改善。少数约10%至20%的胰腺手术后发展为糖尿病,同时这也取决于所执行的手术的复杂性和类型。
 

胆道由胆囊和胆管组成。胆囊是一个连接到主胆管的中间部分的袋子,而它为胆汁储存器但不被用于消化。胆管的主要功能是传输胆汁,由肝脏至肠所产生的液体并有助于食物消化的功能。
 

两种常发性影响胆管的状况:胆管结石及胆管肿瘤

胆管结石是可能由已经跌出到主胆管结石引起的。而在极少数情况下,石头可能会于胆管内形成而不是胆囊。结石形成的风险因素包括肥胖,女性,怀孕,高脂肪的饮食和家族史。此病患者可能会遇到感染(发热,右上腹痛,出汗和发冷)的症状,因为大多数的石头含有细菌,可能会导致阻塞胆汁流的感染。胆囊结石可通过腹部的超声波扫描检测。胆结石非常普遍于一般人群和胆结石没有存在症状,通常不需要治疗但若胆管结石就需要就医。
胆管结石的移除可使用一种特殊的内窥镜被称为鼻内镜逆行胰胆管造影(ERCP)。通过由口引入,柔性管配有光源和照相机进入十二指肠中去除胆管结石。如果ERCP不成功除去石块,放射学过程经皮的肝胆胆管造影将被建议使用,由其中一个导管通过肝脏插入胆管为查看胆道的视像。

另一种选择是执行除去胆管结石手术。为了胆管结石能从胆囊除去,胆囊将在手术中被切除;通常通过锁孔或腹腔镜技术以防止病情复发的问题。
 

胆管癌

胆管癌,或胆管的壁的癌症可以沿着导管的过程中发生。它的危险因素包括寄生虫感染,原发性硬化性胆管炎(自身免疫性胆管发炎),胆管囊肿,慢性胆管结石。伴随这种情况的患者可能会抱怨食欲不振,消瘦,乏力等。

这样类型的癌症是难以在初级阶段检测和通常没有任何症状。它可能会提高肿瘤标志物在检测的正视但因为肿瘤标志物还通常在非癌性的条件下上调,导致难以识别这种癌症。手术切除是治愈胆管癌的唯一机会。如果患者在早期癌症诊断前已扩散,手术只是唯一可行的。手术类型是依赖于胆管癌的位置,通常涉及切除肝脏或胰脏的一部分胆管。

从手术恢复后,通常建议患者接受化疗和/或放疗。如果手术是不可行的,化疗可能延长患者的生存机率。
 

 
 

若要进行预约 , 请联系:

亚洲美安肝脏中心
6A, Napier Road
Gleneagles Hospital, Annexe Block #02-37
Singapore 258500
电话: (65) 6476 2088
传真: (65) 6476 3088
电邮: enquiry.liver@aamg.co
网页: www.aamg.co/liver

Get to Know Your Digestive System

hpb-system}

In Asia, the prevalence of liver diseases is high. Conditions like jaundice, fatty liver associated with obesity, high alcohol consumption and metabolic conditions like high cholesterol and diabetes, to liver cirrhosis and cancer can all cause damage to the body’s Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary (HPB) system – yet few understand it importance. Made up of the liver, pancreas, bile ducts and gallbladder, each organ is intrinsically related, and they are all essential to the body’s digestive system. Taking care of your HPB system through early detection is vital to empower patients to seek the right care.

Tasked with necessary bodily functions that include processing digested food from the intestine to controlling levels of fats, amino acids and glucose in the blood, combating infections in the body clearing the blood of particles and infections, neutralising and destroying drugs and toxins, strong iron, vitamins and other essential chemicals, breaking down food to turn it into energy and manufacturing bile which aids in fat digestion to breaking down food to turn it into energy, the HPB system is indeed complex but very important. Like all other bodily functions, the HPB system is also susceptible to disorders and diseases.

Related diseases triggered by viral, bacterial or parasitic infections, neoplasia, toxic chemicals, alcohol consumption, poor nutrition, metabolic disorders and even cardiac failure can lead to severe conditions. Diseases of the liver, pancreas, gallbladder and biliary system are relatively common and frequently require surgical treatment for recovery and good long-term outcome.

hpb-system}

 

The liver is a vital organ, without which the tissues of the body would quickly die from lack of energy and nutrients. It performs many essential functions related to digestion, metabolism, immunity and the storage of nutrients within the body.

It is also the only organ in the body that has an incredible capacity for regeneration of dead or damaged tissues and it is capable of growing quickly to restore its normal size and function.
 

Liver Diseases

Fatty liver and hepatitis B are the two most common liver diseases in Singapore. A lifestyle-related liver condition, fatty liver, which affects approximately 15% of the population, could be the result of a sedentary lifestyle, inadequate activities and eating too much leading to an increase in body mass index (BMI). The risk factor of diabetes also negatively impacts the condition.

Hepatitis B, which is a disease characterised by the inflammation of the liver. The disease can progress to fibrosis (scarring) and cirrhosis or liver cancer. Since the prescription of a universal vaccination against hepatitis B, there has been a significant drop in incidences. To determine the health of the liver, by running a liver function test or a group of blood tests to detect inflammation and damage to the liver, even if there is no significant sign of liver discomfort, in particular for individuals who belong to the high-risk group – those with bad food habits, who lead sedentary lifestyles, with high BMI, diabetic patients, as well as individuals with family members who have liver conditions or are carriers of hepatitis B.

Once any liver disorder is detected from the blood tests, an ultrasound and further blood test will be prescribed to determine how advanced the condition is. Occasionally, there any be no answer from the blood tests by which time, the doctor may opt for minimally-invasive biopsy to draw samples from the liver cells.

After the liver condition has been determined, the next step is to prescribe treatment to prevent further injury to the liver, as well as to reduce the risk of downstream conditions. Fatty liver can be prevented from escalation with oral medication and lifestyle modification. Patients who are motivated to reduce calorie intake and exercise can reverse the liver condition. In fact, lifestyle changes are often more effective than medication. In the case of hepatitis B, if the virus is active and there is ongoing injury to the liver, treatment is necessary and this comes in the form of antiviral oral medication. Thereafter, regular blood tests will be done to determine if the condition is under control.

Surgery becomes necessary in two situations, when liver disease leads to liver failure, usually at end stage liver cirrhosis in which case a transplant is needed and if liver cirrhosis leads to liver cancer, the operation only removes cancer and leaves the remaining functioning liver. A liver transplantation is necessary for any individual with liver failure. In Asia, the prevalence of liver diseases like liver cancer is high, and there is an increasing demand for liver transplantation for patient with end-stage liver disease, not to mention a worldwide shortage of cadaveric (non-living) livers with a long waiting list in every country. Hence, Living Donor Liver Transplant (LDLT) has become an effective option, particularly for those with acute liver failure and liver cancers like hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC), the most common type of liver cancer.

Living Donor Liver Transplantation (LDLT)

LDLT is a procedure that involves a living donor who is willing to give a portion of his or her liver to a family member or close friend in need of a liver transplant. For patients suffering with rapidly progressive liver disease, waiting for a deceased donor liver is often not ideal as that can take a long time. Without LDLT, such patients can develop fatal complications.

One of the biggest advantages of LDLT over deceased donor liver transplantation (DDLT) is that the doctors can schedule the patient’s procedure. Thus, patients in a compromised medical condition can be optimized prior to transplant surgery in order to achieve better outcomes.

Read more about LDLT

 

The Parkway Asian Transplant Unit

A dedicated inpatient ward & ICU for liver patients.

Established in 1994, we are a leading center that treats liver, pancreas and bile duct diseases in both adult and paediatric patients. Based at the Gleneagles Hospital where it provides the outpatient services, we also co-manages the dedicated in-patient liver ward and ICU, known as Parkway Asian Transplant Unit (PATU).

The center is designed to provide patients with comprehensive and seamless liver care including liver cirrhosis treatment, liver dialysis, Hepatitis C treatment and Hepatitis A and B vaccines. PATU’s excellent clinical outcomes have been internationally recognized, making the unit one of Singapore’s leading medical assets.

 

AALC’s Accolades

Led by Dr. Tan Kai Chah, a renowned liver surgeon specializing in liver transplantation, the team comprises of Dr. Lee Kang Hoe, senior consultant and multidisciplinary team of doctors, nurses and allied healthcare professionals.

Having performed the first living donor liver transplantation in 2002, we have gone on to successfully conduct more than 240 LDLTs – a milestone for Asia’s first private transplant centre. It is now one of the largest and most experienced centres performing such a procedure. The key to success has been a well-trained and experienced team in both ICU and general ward settings. The liver unit has also become one of the top centres in the world for managing liver failure patients before liver transplant. We have been successful in bridging these patients to their surgery by utilizing state of the art liver dialysis support for such critically ill patients. Our experience to date has been one of the largest in the world in managing such complex cases successfully.

We uses advanced German technology from MeVis Distant Services (MDS). It is a precise tool enabling the surgeon to perform the operation on the liver donor with utmost safety and confidence, this technology allows the doctors to reconstruct the liver anatomy of the donor accurately from CT scans. The data from the CT scan of the donor is uploaded to MDS, where a team of technicians and radiologist will translate the data to depict the vascular anatomy and parenchymal volume to determine the suitability of the proposed liver graft for the recipient. We were one of the first medical centres in Southeast Asia to use such technology regularly and also a regional leader in the usage of various liver dialysis machines, which help treat patients with liver failure and act as a “bridge” to transplantation surgery. One of the main drawbacks of LDLT is the potential for complications or even death of the donor. There is also the difficulty of finding a donor whose blood group is compatible with the recipient and is fit (physically and mentally) to undergo surgery. In Singapore, donors tend to be next of kin of the recipient or close associates. Potential donors are required to consult with our specialist to be made fully aware of the risks of the surgery.

The pancreas is a large gland behind the stomach that releases powerful digestive enzymes into the small intestine to aid the digestion of food. It also releases the hormones insulin and glucagon into the bloodstream. These hormones help the body control how it uses food for energy. Inflammation of the pancreas can happen when the digestive enzymes are activated before they are released into the small intestine which then attacks the pancreas. Pancreatic diseases can be categorized into benign and malignant causes. There are many benign pancreatic diseases such as pancreatitis (acute and chronic), most pancreatic cysts, some pancreatic neuroendocrine tumours and autoimmune pancreatitis to name the major ones.


 

Pancreas Cysts

While the causes for pancreatic cysts, pancreatic neuroendocrine tumours, and autoimmune pancreatitis are not entirely clear, it is commonly believed that acute pancreatitis is usually caused by gallstones or alcohol abuse/ingestion. Pancreatitis caused by gallstones will require gallbladder surgery to prevent subsequent abuse and may require surgery to relieve abdominal pain in severe cases. Autoimmune pancreatitis, which can sometimes mimic pancreatic cancer, is thought to be caused by chronic alcohol abuse and may require surgery to relieve abdominal pain in severe cases. Autoimmune pancreatitis, which can sometimes mimic pancreatic cancer, is thought to be caused by the body’s immune system attacking the pancreas and can be treated with medication.

With more people turning to regular health screening, coupled with the prevalent use of medical imaging such as ultrasound and CT, there is an increased incidence of early detection of pancreatic cysts.

Pancreatic cysts can be detected early, but this will require an ultrasound or CT scan. Blood tests are not reliable markers for most pancreatic tumours or cysts. To determine the nature of pancreatic cysts, patients may undergo endoscopic ultrasound. This will have the advantage of sampling the cyst fluid for analysis (with fine-needle aspiration), helping us determine the cancer frisk and diagnosing the various types of pancreatic cysts.

Once the nature of the cyst and its risk for malignancy (or cancer) have been determined, the doctor will then advise how best to manage the cyst. Typically, for low-risk cyssts, surveillance by a pancreatic doctor will suffice. However, in the case of high risk cysts, surgery is the treatment of choice to eradicate the problem, as well as, to avoid the possibility of the cyst becoming malignant in the future.

 

Pancreatic Cancer

Pancreatic cancers are malignant, and they can arise in the head of the pancreas or the body/tail of the pancreas. To date, there is no reliable marker for early detection of pancreatic cancer, however, we are aware that some pancreatic cysts are at risk of becoming pancreatic cancer. Hence, the formal evaluation of pancreatic cysts to determine if these cysts are at high risk for pancreatic cancer will be important.

Surgery is the treatment of choice once pancreatic cancer is diagnosed. Whipple surgery or the removal of the pancreatic head is recommended if cancer occurs in the head of the pancreas. Complications occur in about 30% of Whipple surgery, with most being minor ones such as infection, wound problems, or delayed bowel recovery. Major complications would include bleeding or pancreatic leak. If a tumour is located in the body or tail of the pancreas, distal pancreatectomy or surgical resection of the body and tail of the pancreas will be performed. And if the cancer is detected early, this surgery can be performed laparoscopically otherwise known as a minimally-invasive surgery performed without long incisions.

With a 10% to 15% rate of complication, of which most are minor complications recovery is expected to be relatively quick and with a significantly smaller scar. Adjuvant chemotherapy after surgery helps in lowering relapse rate for pancreatic cancer. The majority of patients recover well from surgery and will maintain normal digestive function after pancreatic surgery. Post-surgery downtime is approximately three to six weeks, depending on the type of surgery performed. Some patients can experience mild abdominal discomfort after surgery but assure that the condition it will improve with time. A small minority of about 10% to 20% can develop diabetes after pancreatic surgery, depending on the complexity and type of surgery performed.

The biliary tract is made up of the gallbladder and bile ducts. The gallbladder is a pouch that connects to the mid-portion of the main bile duct, acting as a reservoir for bile while it is not being used for digestion. The main function of the bile duct is to transport bile, a liquid produced by the liver to the intestine where it helps with the digestion of food.

The Two Common Conditions Affecting The Bile Duct are Bile Duct Stones and Bile Duct Cancer

Bile duct stones are caused by gallstones that may have fallen out into the main bile duct. And in rare instances, stones may form in the bile duct instead of the gallbladder. The risk factors for gallstone formation include obesity, female gender, pregnancy, high-fat diet and family history. Patients with this condition may experience symptoms of infection (fever, right upper abdominal pain, sweats and chills) as most stones contain bacteria that may lead to infection of the blocked bile flow. Gallstones in the gallbladder may be detected by an ultrasound scan of the abdomen. Gallstones are very common in the general populations and the presence of the gallstones without symptoms usually does not require treatment. Stones in the bile duct, however, require medical attention.

Stones in the bile duct may be removed using a special endoscope called endoscopic retrograde cholangiopancreatography (ERCP). Introduced through the mouth, a flexible tube with a light and camera goes into the duodenum where the bile duct is to remove the stones. If the ERCP is unsuccessful in removing the stones, a radiological procedure is suggested for percutaneous transhepatic cholangiogram to be performed where a catheter is inserted through the liver into the bile ducts for the visualization of the biliary tract.

Another option is to perform a surgical removal of the bile duct stones. In order for bile duct stones to be removed from the gallbladder, the gallbladder will be surgically removed, often via key-hole or laparoscopic technique, to prevent recurrent problems.

 

Bile Duct Cancer

Bile duct cancer, or cancer of the wall of the bile duct, may occur along the course of the ducts. Its risk factors include parasitic infection, primary sclerosing cholangitis (autoimmune bile duct inflammation), bile duct cysts and chronic bile duct stones. Patients with this condition may complain of poor appetite, weight loss and fatigue.

Such cancer is difficult to detect at its infancy and usually has no symptoms. It may cause an elevation of tumour markers but because tumour markers are also commonly raised in noncancerous conditions, it is often difficult to identify such cancer.

Surgical removal is the only chance for cure in bile duct cancer. Surgery is only possible if the patient is diagnosed at an early stage before the cancer has spread. The type of surgery is dependent on the location of the bile duct cancer and it usually involves the removal of the bile ducts with part of the liver or pancreas.

After recovery from surgery, it is often recommended that patients undergo chemotherapy and/or radiotherapy. If surgery is not possible, chemotherapy may prolong the patient’s survival.

 
 

For enquiries and appointment, please contact:

Asian American Liver Centre
6A, Napier Road
Gleneagles Hospital, Annexe Block #02-37
Singapore 258500