肝脏

原因和危险因素

由于饮酒过多,酒精性肝病 (ALD) 会对肝脏造成损坏。

  • 长期过度饮酒可导致酒精性肝病。摄取的几乎所有酒精都会新陈代谢进入肝脏内。如果酒精消耗高于新陈代谢率,则更容易产生酒精性肝病。10 年中每天饮酒超过 80 克的男性和超过 40 克的女性患此病的风险更大。女性在年轻时更容易患肝硬化,会在晚期显示出症状,而且比男性产生更多并发症。
  • 遗传可能是患有酒精性肝病一个因素。
  • 营养失调可能是产生肝病的一个因素,而且是由于酒精、食欲减退、吸收不良(营养吸收不足)形成无营养价值的热量而产生的。

什么是自身免疫性肝炎?

自身免疫性肝炎是一种慢性疾病 (持续六个月以上的情况)通常是终生的肝脏问题。它是一种自身免疫性疾病,是指机体对自身抗原发生免疫反应而导致自身组织损害所引起的疾病。

肝硬化是指肝脏拥有异常增生情况导致不可逆转的结疤情况。一些主要原因:持续过度饮酒、病毒性B型肝炎C型肝炎、或脂肪肝疾病 – 然而,仍有许多其他可能性原因导致肝硬化。

肝硬化患者或可能会出现黄疸(皮肤、眼睛和舌头发黄),瘙痒和极度疲劳等症状。

肝硬化是由于肝脏长期不断发生损害而导致。健康的肝脏组织被破坏从而被疤痕组织所取代而造成病情日渐严重,也将阻断血液与肝脏之间的流动。肝硬化是一种进展性疾病,长期缓慢的发展,最终直至停止肝脏停止运作而导致肝功能衰竭。肝脏拥有几项基本功能,包括:解析体内有害物质,它也能净化血液和制造的重要营养素。

如果患有轻度肝硬化,肝脏是能自行修复,并继续正常运作。但如果患有晚期肝硬化或拥有越来越多疤痕组织形态,肝脏是无法自行修复损伤。肝组织是由纤维疤痕组织以及再生结节(即显示为一个过程,其中受损组织的再生结果疙瘩)取代;皆因肝组织已被纤维状瘢痕组织和再生结节所取代(肿块是受损组织再生的结果)。

liver dialysis肝功能衰竭是严重的、危及生命的疾病,有急性和慢性两种形式。与肾功能衰竭不同,除了肝脏移植之外,没有长期的替代性治疗。肝脏移植非常昂贵,需要捐献者,而且涉及大手术。组织一次适当的肝脏移植手术至少要一周,因此,肝脏透析成为一些患有急性肝功能衰竭的患者的桥梁,用于支持他/她承受肝功能衰竭,直到可进行移植手术。等待合适的活体捐献者时,患者甚至接受长达一个月的治疗。

肝脏透析是在我们专业的百汇亚洲移植中心的特护病房中执行的,需要使用非生物性肝脏透析设备,其被称作分子吸附再循环系统 (MARS™). 它是最常用的设备,作为间歇性设备或连续设备。它的基于炭的系统能够吸收毒素,提供了解毒功能,并未利用任何正常肝脏合成功能。它也可以结合血浆分离器,也可能会存在白蛋白透析液。通常情况下,该系统具有尝试更新暗盒以延长其使用寿命的方法。该设备已被亚洲美安肝脏中心广泛使用了多年。

肝衰竭的发生是指大部分肝脏受损,无法自行修复,肝脏功能不能完全发挥。

肝衰竭是一种危及生命的情况,且是一种需要紧急医疗救护的疾病。 肝衰竭在大多情况下是多年来逐渐发生的病况。 然而,有些急性肝衰竭是迅速发生的(在48小时),这也被视为一种罕见情况,鲜少在初期阶段检测。

Liver-wellness我们的肝脏是最大的内部器官和第二大的人体器官。它是执行各种功能的最重要的器官之一。它也是能够进行自我再生或重建的唯一器官。

肝脏的形状像个三角形,分为 2 个主瓣(右侧和左侧波瓣),成人的肝脏重量可达 1.4 公斤。它的颜色是红褐色,位于右肋的后方,经过腹部延伸至左上侧腹部。它由双层薄膜完全覆盖,其能够将它固定到位,并减少对腹腔内其他器官的摩擦。肝脏是我们体内的监管、储存和净化单元。

如果你的肝脏脂肪含量超过五到十巴仙,那么你可能患有脂肪肝。“脂肪肝” – 通常指的是非酒精性脂肪肝(NAFLD),有别于摄入高酒精而引起的肝脏疾病。

非酒精性脂肪肝影响着各个年龄层,目前也是慢性疾病的主要导因之一。这与饮酒无关; 而事实上,肥胖则是非酒精性脂肪肝患者最常见的特征。

肝脏中的细胞开始异常生长并最终形成恶性肿瘤时,肝癌便产生了。有两种类型的肝癌 –源于肝脏的原发性肝癌和源于其他器官扩散至肝脏的癌症的次级(转移性)肝癌

肝炎是肝脏炎症,可自行消退,也可发展为纤维化、肝硬化或肝癌。
而肝炎病毒是全球肝炎的最常见病因,但其它感染、有毒物质(如酒精、药物等)以及自身免疫性疾病也能引起肝炎。肝炎主要有5种肝炎病毒,分别为A、B、C、D和E型肝炎。

Liver

Cause & Risk Factors

Alcoholic Liver Disease (ALD) is damage to the liver induced by excessive alcohol consumption.

  • Alcohol bingeing and abuse over a long period of time can lead to ALD. Almost all the alcohol ingested is metabolised in the liver. If the alcohol consumption is higher than the rate of metabolism, the probability of developing ALD is potentially greater. Males drinking in excess of 80g and females in excess of 40g of alcohol per day for 10 years are at higher risk. Women are more susceptible to developing cirrhosis at an earlier age, exhibit symptoms at advanced stage and have more complications than males.
  • Genetics may play a role in the development of ALD.
  • Malnutrition can contribute to liver disease and it develops as a result of empty calories from alcohol, loss of appetite, malabsorption (inadequate absorption of nutrients).

Liver cirrhosis is an abnormal liver condition in which there is irreversible scarring of the liver. The main causes are sustained excessive alcohol consumption, viral hepatitis B and C, and fatty liver disease – however, there are many possible causes.

People with liver cirrhosis may develop jaundice (yellowing of the skin, eyes and tongue), itching and extreme tiredness.

liver dialysisLiver failure is a severe life-threatening condition that can present acutely or chronically. Unlike kidney failure, there is no long-term replacement treatment apart from liver transplantation. Liver transplantation is expensive, requires a donor, and involves a major operation. As it takes at least one week to organise an appropriate liver transplantation, liver dialysis is used as a bridge to liver transplantation for some patients with acute liver failure to support him/her through his/her liver failure until transplantation can be performed. Patients have been treated even up to one month while waiting for suitable living donors.

Liver dialysis is performed in the ICU in our dedicated Parkway Asian Transplant Unit, using a non-biological liver dialysis device known as the Molecular adsorbing re-circulating system (MARS™). It is the most commonly used device and it comes as an intermittent device or continuous device. Its charcoal-based system adsorbs the toxins, providing a detoxifying function without any contribution of the normal liver synthetic function. It may be coupled with a plasma separator and there may also be an albumin dialysate. The system usually has some way of trying to renew the cartridges to prolong its lifespan. This device has been utilised extensively at AALC for several years.

Liver failure occurs when large parts of the liver become damaged beyond repair and the liver is no longer able to function.

Liver failure is a life-threatening condition that demands urgent medical care. Most often, liver failure occurs gradually and over many years. However, a more rare condition known as acute liver failure occurs rapidly (in as little as 48 hours) and can be difficult to detect initially.

Liver-wellnessOur liver is the largest internal organ and the second largest human organ. It is one of the most vital organs that performs a myriad of functions. It is also the only organ that can regenerate or rebuild itself.

Shaped almost like a triangle and divided into 2 main lobes (the right and left lobes), the liver can weigh up to 1.4kg in an adult. It is dark reddish-brown in colour, and is located behind our right ribs and stretches across the abdomen to the left upper abdomen. It is covered entirely by a double layer of thin membrane that keeps it in place and reduces friction against other organs in the abdominal cavity. The liver functions as a regulation, storage and purification unit in our body.

Non-alcoholic-Fatty-Liver-DiseaseTriglyceride is a type of fats found in our diet and is also made in the liver. The liver then releases it for energy and cell growth.

When the process is interrupted or slowed down, the fats will start to build up in the liver cells. Thus, the term “fatty liver” for this condition. Fatty liver disorder is categorised into alcoholic fatty liver and non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD).

Liver cancer is a malignant tumour within the organ itself. There are two types of liver cancer – primary liver cancer a cancer which started (originated) in the liver, and secondary (metastatic) liver cancer a cancer which has spread from another part of the body/organs to the liver.

Hepatitis is an inflammation of the liver. The condition can be self-limiting or can progress to fibrosis (scarring), cirrhosis or liver cancer.

Hepatitis viruses are the most common cause of hepatitis in the world but other infections, toxic substances (e.g. alcohol, certain drugs), and autoimmune diseases can also cause hepatitis. There are 5 main hepatitis viruses, referred to as types A, B, C, D and E. The 3 most common causes of hepatitis are hepatitis A, B and C.